top of page

Contributions to My Learning and My Learning Community

"Collaboration allows us to know more than we are capable of knowing by ourselves." - Paul Solarz.


Collaborative team for the course

Instructional Design Online Learning


  • Lakesha Smith

  • Valerie Regalado

  • Alyssa Malveaux

  • Maria Lopez


I love a quote from Karon Waddell -"You are never too old to start over. Every day is a chance to make changes to create the life we want." This program has taught me to be a visionary leader and to look for ways to innovate and improve.

My ADL journey has been so enjoyable that I cannot believe I am finishing the last two courses. Usually, when we start something new, the excitement is at the beginning, and then it slows down. However, the more I moved forward through this program, the more engaged I was. The COVA philosophy plays a vital role in this motivation. With my choice in selecting projects, I had control of my learning and went as deep as I wished. Since all the courses complemented each other, I connected my pieces of knowledge instead of collecting them and everything in one place, my ePortfolio.  


I am grateful to the person who recommended this master's program and feel very confident that I made the right decision to follow this path. Being exposed to more holistic learning, in which I constructed my own knowledge with others' help and contributed to the learning of others, made me appreciate the beauty of collaboration. However, initially, I did not feel comfortable reaching out to others. Still, once I got more comfortable with collaboration, I realized how vital it was and how it helped me get where I am.


Feedback and collaboration are critical components in this program and vital for the course Instructional Design Online Learning. The assignments in this course were project-based learning and meaningful application. I began the course by deciding upon a course design and developed an overview video detailing the what and how of the course before moving on to the implementation phase. Within that stage, the video presented showcases the overall components of who the course is offered for and displays the first two modules. The course concludes with all those pieces in the usability and reflection assignment, where stakeholders review the prototype course and offer feedback.


Reflecting on my ADL journey, I realized how this program has stretched and challenged me beyond what I thought possible. I have gone from a digital learner to an innovative digital leader by analyzing, connecting the dots, and reviewing literature. Looking back on these past eight weeks and the past eleven months, I gave each assignment and discussion my best effort. I took the feedback to help improve my work and increase my knowledge of the topic. As I've done before, I completed assignments before the due date. I used feedback from my collaboration group and instructor to improve my work. I also attended the live Zooms and keep posting on my blog. Additionally, I reorganized my ePortfolio by giving it a new look on the welcome page and adding a link to my learning philosophy and resume. I improved the mobile version to make my ePortfolio more accessible. Lastly, I did something I wanted to do from the beginning: compile educational resources, so I created a section to share them with other educators. What can I do better? There is always room for improvement and I will continue to grow in every area.

While this program has come to a close, the new tools, strategies, and experiences I have received will be carried with me for years to come. I am excited and ready for what comes next. I honestly believe I deserve 95/100.


References


Harapnuik, D. (n.d). CSLE). It's about learning. Retrieved December 4, 2023. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=849

Hapnuik, D. (n.d.). COVA. It's about learning. Retrieved December 4, 2023. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=6991

​Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). ADL Why & Principles. It's about learning. Retrieved December 4, 2023. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=8521


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page