top of page

The ride I'm on!

Updated: Mar 3, 2023


"Challenges are what make life interesting. Overcoming them is what makes life meaningful."

-Joshua J. Marine


The day that I got accepted into this master's program, I was very excited. It’s been my dream for a long time. The Friday afternoon before the classes started, I went for a long walk with my husband as we usually do on the weekends, sharing my enthusiasm about this goal with him. The next day, as usual, we did laundry and house chores, and it was until Saturday afternoon that I checked my email and found all the required assignments for classes 5305 y 5303. I felt overwhelmed and hopeless. I didn't know where to start and was almost about to cry. My weakness is that I panic when things are out of my control. I took a deep breath and began to prioritize my tasks. I ordered the book Blended: Using Disruptive Innovation to Improve Schools by Horn, M.B. & Staker, H. (2014) and read it in two days. I was hooked on discovering the different blending models I could apply in the classroom. First I wanted to implement the flipped classroom. The second idea for my innovation plan was station rotations. When I heard about ePortfolios, I devised a plan to create digital portfolios with station rotations. All this material is new to me, I feel confused about the innovation plan.




Horn, M.B. & Staker, H. (2015) Blended using disruptive innovation to improve schools. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.




8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page