top of page

Planning my Action Research


"If the plan doesn't work change the plan but never the goal" -Unkown.


My innovation plan was born because I identified a problem in my workplace. As a tutor/interventionist, I can observe 5th-grade students' behavior in the ELA classroom, where students have different reading and writing levels. A lack of motivation in their learning leads to low-quality performance. Advanced students rush out on their work, and the rest struggle to catch up during the class. The students enjoy exploring apps on their Chromebooks, but only the advanced ones usually do this after completing each assignment and waiting for the rest of the class to finish.


My innovation plan is the implementation of ePortfolios, which in theory, offers a solution to this problem. ePortfolios are student-centered learning tools that allow students to work at their own pace. They also incorporate technology and promote ownership, collaboration, and reflection. ePortfolio allows students to assess their own work and develop students' creativity.


I hope that with the data collected from this action research, I will be able to analyze and understand in what way/ways the use of ePortfolios affects 5th-grade students' agency in their writing. I plan to use a qualitative approach and collect data through interviews and surveys.


Reference

Mertler, C. A. (2019). Action research: Improving schools and empowering educators (6th ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc.


0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page