top of page

Peer Review

"You need to be aware of what others are doing, applaud their efforts, acknowledge their successes, and encourage them in their pursuits. When we all help one another, everybody wins". Jim Stovall


Teamwork comes naturally to humans as a whole, but that doesn't always mean it's easy for individuals to work with others. Working together without conflict is a critical skill that can help almost anyone achieve greater success. In today's society, collaboration and teamwork expectations are rising consistently. Research shows that collaborative problem-solving leads to better outcomes; people are more likely to take risks that lead to innovation if they have the support of a team behind them; working in a team encourages personal growth, increases job satisfaction, and reduces stress.


This week, within the Applied Digital Learning program at Lamar University, we were tasked with completing a peer review of work done by other classmates. The peer review was to be conducted over an original article created individually or with a team. It was geared towards possible publication on an online blog site, educational magazine, or scholarly journal. Once our original draft was complete, we obtained peer reviews that consisted of giving feedback.


Working on a team before this master's program has been a challenge in most of my academic work in college; I always preferred to work individually. During these months in my ADL journey, I have valued collaboration and teamwork. When I started my master's degree, I struggled since I returned to school after many years. My peers' support helped me overcome these challenges, especially for this course.


Peer review was a valuable learning experience that I shared with Valerie Regalado and Alyssa Malveaux. I also have to recognize the good review that Kacie Guidry did to my rough draft publication. The feedback/feedforward I received from them encouraged me to publish my article.



5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page