top of page

My perception of the Growth Mindset

Updated: Apr 24, 2023



“All you need is the plan, the road map, and the courage to press on to your destination.” —Earl Nightingale


When I first watched Dr. Dweck's videos about mindset a few weeks ago, I discovered myself with a mixture of fixed and growth mindsets, more fixed than growth. I always have been a person who embraces challenges and does not give up easily but tries to avoid criticism. All my academic history, I always strive for grades and sometimes felt uncomfortable with the success of others. I was raised competing for attention among my sisters and having to prove that I was special. My father and teachers praised me for my intelligence instead of effort, so it was zero tolerance for mistakes.

The good news is that we can shift our fixed mindset to a growth mindset. In this ADL program for the first time, I decided to embrace my learning instead my grades, learn from others, and appreciate all feedback. The experience in my first two courses was terrific. I was completely engaged in my learning and thought I succeeded in adopting a growth mindset. However, I am not there yet. Developing a growth mindset is a process; it is an everyday practice.

When I started reading the book Mindset by Dr. Dweck I was questioning myself …is my success about learning -or proving I am smart? I felt guilty about being very proud of myself for my grades on the assignments, but then I realize that they result from my effort. I believe that cultivating a growth mindset is the only way to succeed and reach our full potential (Briceno)



References


Dweck, C. (2014, Oct. 9). Developing a Growth Mindset [video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/hiiEeMN7vbQ


Briceno, E. (2012, Nov. 18). The Power of Belief - mindset and success [video file], Retrieve from https://youtu.be/pN34FNbOKXc?t=12

221 Positive Quotes You Can Use to Change Your Mindset (n.d). Retrieve March 9, 2023, from https://www.scienceofpeople.com/positive-quotes/

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page