top of page

My experience through ADL program

Updated: Apr 24, 2023


Stand for people. Not a product or service or metric or number. Stand for real, living, breathing people and we will change the world.


When I looked back to the day of my first class in this ADL program, I could see the growth in my learning. I remember how overwhelmed I felt in the first week and how comfortable I feel now. The feedforward that I received from my professors’ growth mindset was a significant key to my confidence and the development of my potential. This master’s program is very well designed because every course is connected. If I can define my learning experience with two words, I would say engaging and enjoyable.


Since I worked on a real-world problem, I can apply the theory I learned. The learning approach in this program, COVA (choice, ownership, voice through authentic learning opportunities), has kept me engaged since the beginning. Creating my ePortfolio following this philosophy helped me take ownership of my learning. I enjoy the choice I have to create and present my assignments in a way that makes sense to me. My voice is heard in my reflections, and through collaboration, I can give and receive feedforward.


I recently learned that a growth mindset is a positive state of mind that helps individuals to embrace imperfections and reframe challenges as opportunities. This course made a positive impact on my personal and professional life. Every day I try to follow the voice of the growth mindset, and whenever I have the opportunity, I help the people around me to adopt it. When I face setbacks, the voice of the growth mindset makes me remember that I am not there yet.


The most valuable lesson I have learned in this program so far is the urgency to prepare our learners with a growth mindset. Then, we must adopt the COVA approach in our classrooms and use technology meaningfully. These three elements are essential if we want to impact education positively.


I am a long-life learner, and my ePortfolio is my personal learning space. Ownership is the most crucial factor that can contribute to using my ePortfolio beyond this program.


References

Dweck, C. (2008). Mindset: The new psychology of success. New York, NY. Ballantine Books

Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). Applied Digital Learning. It's about learning. Retrieved April 20, 2023. harapnuik.org/?page_id=8517

Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). CSLE + COVA. It's about learning. Retrieved April 20, 2023. harapnuik.org/?page_id=6988

Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). COVA. It's about learning. Retrieved April 20, 2023. harapnuik.org/?page_id=6991

Thibodeaux, T. N., Harapnuik, D. K, & Cummings, C. D. (2017). Factors that contribute to ePortfolio persistence. International Journal of ePortfolio, 7(1), p. 1-12. Retrieved from http://www.theijep.com/pdf/IJEP257.pdf



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page