top of page

Making Connections

Updated: Feb 19, 2023


"If you're walking down the

RIGHT PATH

and you're willing to

KEEP WALKING,

eventually you'll

MAKE PROGRESS"

Barack Obama


Making connections from what I am learning, I started connecting with an experience when I attended Beauty College. The graduation requirement was to complete fifteen hours of training and then take the exam for the certification. I did not have a schedule. The school was open from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm, so I could stay as many hours as desired. I could go to any station and learn from my peers what I wanted for as long as I wished. I took advantage, and I learned as much as I could. It worked for me! Nevertheless, some students didn't take ownership of their learning and only completed the hours with minimum training.

If students don't have the right mindset, they could be lost in that privileged situation. To create an authentic learning environment, along with freedom, the teacher also requires to give guidance to the learner. Guided discovery provides the appropriate space to engage in authentic learning opportunities while at the same time providing the necessary guidance, modeling, and direction to lessen cognitive overload (Bruner, 1991, 1960; Ginsberg &Opper, 1969: Mayer, 2004).


https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.uK6nA3uqTXktPFX4A7


3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page