top of page

Contributions to My Learning and My Learning Community

Updated: Mar 3, 2023


Applying Education Technology: ePortfolios



Collaborative Team


  • Eleonor Wilson

  • Lakesha Smith

  • Theresa L Hall

  • Maria Lopez



When I listened to COVA Podcast that Dr. Harapnuik posted, I realized that I was not the only one to felt overwhelmed at the beginning of this course. Most of us have been raised with a fixed mindset, trying to achieve the result without focusing on the learning during the process. We have gone through our academic trajectory knowing what to do. We learned how the education system works. Most of the time when we start a class, we look at the material, try to understand it, memorize it, pass the test, and move on to the next lesson. Since the first day, I knew this program would be different.

This program was my first online learning experience. Getting lost from link to link trying to follow all the instructions in the first email Dr. Harapnuik posted. Intending to get familiar with blackboard and completing all the readings for my first zoom meeting discussion, I was exhausted on my first class. More than twenty years out of school, basic technological skills, first-time online courses, a non-bachelor’s degree in education, and basic writing skills, It felt like going to a battle without the proper gear. Undoubtedly, this journey has been challenging, but I could overcome it and turn it into a triumphal experience.

Without a doubt, despite having worked many hours every day, I have had one of my best learning experiences in these eight weeks. I learned COVA principles, and I created my ePortfolio from scratch. I learned the value of digital portfolios as a learning tool from the product and the process. My ePortfolio gave me choice, ownership, and voice to my learning from the moment I started creating it; also, I gained digital skills.

CHOICE

I used the freedom to create, present and organized my learning pieces of evidence and I chose the platform to build my ePortfolio.

OWNERSHIP

I took responsibility for my learning by giving each assignment my best and submitting them on time, attending all Zoom class meetings, and completing the required readings (including COVA ebook) and other sources outside the course suggestions. I also took the lead in forming my collaborative team and participated in all blackboard discussions.

VOICE

I gave feedback to my peers respectfully and constructively and always appreciated the positive reinforcement they gave to me. My collaboration team was very supportive, especially on the first Zoom meeting (my first as a host); we constantly communicated to clarify doubts regarding the work.

Whenever possible, I shared my learning with colleagues in my organization. My journey in this course has been a fantastic experience I want to share with my 5th-grade students, so My Innovation Plan is a proposal on the implementation of ePortfolios.

For the past weeks, I have been working really hard and giving all my time to these ADL courses, Since there is always room for improvement, I will continue to grow in every area (especially in APA format), but also I need to balance my study time with my life outside the program. I proudly said that I have met all my key and supporting contributions for this course, so my score is 95/100.


Links to some of my reflections


Getting Started

Culture of Helpfulness

CSLE+COVA

Who Owens the ePortfolio

Portfolio

Why use an ePortfolio

Developing a Growth Mindset

Inspire by Others

Connecting the Dots

Habit of Reflection

Engagement

What am I doing differently





References


Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). ePortfolios. It's about learning. Retrieved February 24, 2023. www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=5973.


Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). Assessment OF/FOR/AS learning. It's about learning. Retrieved February 24, 2023.

www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=8900


Harapnuik, D. (n.d.).COVA. It's about learning. Retrieved February 24, 2023. www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=6991


Image by Brian Solis

www.briansolis.com%2ftag%2fengagement%2f/RK=2/RS=XFe81E6JfKqs0DiRGHlJepn0AEc-

20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page