top of page

Contribution to my Learning and my Learning Community

Updated: Nov 24, 2023


"Learn everything you can, from anyone you can; there will always come a time when you will be grateful you did.

Sarah Caldwell


My ADL journey continues, and I am even more excited with each step forward. I am convinced that Creating Significant Learning Environments (CSLE) with a student-centered approach is the key to engaging the learners. The COVA philosophy plays a vital role in this motivation. Since every course complements each other, I connect my pieces of knowledge instead of collecting them and everything in one place, my ePortfolio.

I prepared better for these two courses, taking ownership of my learning. I ordered my books beforehand, so I started my readings earlier. I found that actively and intentionally engaging with my learning community is essential. We have continued to support and collaborate during these past eight weeks. We utilized GroupMe, where we exchanged ideas, had regular check-ins, discussed progress on current or upcoming assignments, and provided feedback.


In ED5313, I developed a deeper understanding of choice, ownership, voice, and authentic learning related to Creating Significant Learning Environments (CSLE). I was fascinated with developing significant learning environments within this course, starting with examining The New Culture of Learning. As the course progressed, I grew in my understanding of CSLE. I elaborated on my Learning Philosophy, which outlines how my teaching philosophy and learning philosophy align with my desire to create significant learning environments. Once the foundation was established, I created a 3 Column Table that related to our Big Hairy Audacious Goal (BHAG) and looked at overall outcomes, learning assessments, and activities. In addition to the 3 column table, I went even deeper to build out specific outcomes in developing my UbD template. Finally, the course allowed for re-evaluating my original Growth Mindset Plan.


My ED5389 Developing Effective Professional Learning course focused on designing professional learning connected to my Innovation Plan. For this course, I developed a Call to Action video to promote an Alternative way of professional development. The video aimed to highlight the difference between ‘sit & get’ versus the preferred option of ‘show & go’ when it comes to designing and implementing professional learning. From there, I developed a PL Plan outlining the course and timeline for each component, emphasizing the importance of the five principles of effective professional learning. The course concluded with assembling all the PL components in a cohesive way to make a resource for the ePortfolio implementation.

Reflecting on my performance during these eight weeks, I put my best effort into each activity/assignment in both courses. I completed all my readings, watched the recommended videos, and reviewed supporting resources before each class meeting.

I took the lead and connected members from previous groups to form my new learning teams. I collaborated with them by giving and receiving feedforward. I also offered my help to other classmates outside my collaborative team. I turned in all my assignments on time, reviewed and reflected on the feedforward received from my instructors and teammates, and made improvements when necessary. I participated in all forum discussions by expressing my insights and replying to others. A total of ten reflections were posted on my blog related to these courses (CSLE posts and PL posts). I also updated my Implementation outline to include the PL. Since there is always room for improvement, I must work harder on my writing skills and APA citations. I honestly feel that the scores for my effort and learning in these courses would be:




Team for 5313 Team for 5389


Valerie Regalado Lakesha Smith

Alyssa Malveaux Theresa L. Hall

Mikeeka Pittman Valerie Regalado

Lakesha Smith Eleanor Wilson

Maria Lopez Maria Lopez


I also collaborated with Argelia Perez





16 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page