top of page

Be a good Influencer!

Updated: Aug 16, 2023


"I believe that the measure of my soul is my capacity to love imperfect people"

Joseph Grenny

If we are willing to influence people's behavior, we must consider psychology, sociology, and organizational theory. Motivation and ability are the foundation of the model's Six Sources of Influence (Grenny, 2013). These two factors must be considered on a personal, social, and structural level. Combining six sources of influence makes ten times more likely the success of any innovation initiative.

Applying this to my innovation plan. I need to identify those behaviors that could be difficult or unpleasant and reverse them into practices that ePortfolio adopters will like (personal motivation). It is essential to show my why for the change. I also need to determine if the ability is present or if skills need to be developed (personal ability).

For social motivation, I need to get peer pressure working for me instead of against my innovation. My influencers can help model the new behavior. Coaching and feedback will be necessary for social ability.

Finally, I need to find the rewards and compensations that can assure accountability (structural motivation); for structure ability, I need to be sure that tools and technology are available.

Combining at least four sources of influence is recommended to succeed with my innovation plan, as shown in the three study cases in the article How to 10X Your Influence.

Social motivation is one of the most important sources of influence and must be included in any initiative. This was the one that determined the success of the behavior change in the video All Washed Up!


References


Crucial Learning. (2009, September 21). All washed up! YouTube. Retrieved March 21, 2023, from https://youtu.be/osUwukXSd0k

Harnessing Social Pressure. (2012, December 17). Influencer: Cricket Buchler. Retrieved March 21, 2023, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wu7UBY5euBg

Grenny, Maxfield & Shimberg (2013). How to 10X Your Influence. VitalSmarts. Retrieve from:


Patterson, K., & Grenny, J. (2013). Influencer: The new science of leading change, Second Edition. McGraw-Hill Education.


Image

https://www.teepublic.com/long-sleeve-t-shirt/16823189-create-share-inspire-teach-connect-influencer-educ


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page